Fluffy Golden Waffles

fluffy-golden-waffles

Who wants breakfast for dinner? Me! Me! Me! Because you can have the best meal of the day twice! Well, I guess it’s second only to brunch. Sadly, I have dinner plans tonight, and since I’m away from home, I have limited resources here, so I’m reposting a recipe from my old, failed cooking blog.

I made these waffles during a huge snowstorm last winter, and they’ve been a weekend morning favorite of mine ever since. All this cold weather we’re having reminds me of that day and the wealth of comfort and warmth a good breakfast can bring, so I’m glad I can share it again. // Susannah

See the recipe after the jump…

FLUFFY GOLDEN WAFFLES

Adapted from Sunday Brunch by Betty Rosbottom ($19.95) 

Makes six waffles

Ingredients

  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions

  1. Turn on the waffle maker to your desired waffle crispness level. (I prefer mine golden with a slightly crispy exterior). If you’re keeping them warm, preheat oven to 200°F.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients. In another bowl, whisk together the buttermilk and the eggs.
  3. Create a well in the dry ingredients by pushing them to the outer edge of the bowl, forming a “hole” in the middle. Pour in the egg mixture. Whisk until ingredients just combined, with no clumps.
  4. Pour butter in a slow stream, stirring until butter is incorporated.
  5. Pour 1/2 cup of batter into waffle iron and make waffles! Keep warm in preheated oven on a baking sheet.
  6. Serve with melted butter, maple syrup, fruit and/or whipped cream.
Leave a Reply

