Spiked Iced Coffee with Bailey’s

spiked-iced-coffee

I’m a coffee person. In the mornings, I like hot coffee, but in the afternoon, I like to go for something a bit cooler. Whenever I go to a coffee shop, I am usually that freak that orders an iced coffee whether it’s January or July. Buying coffee out can definitely get expensive, so I’ve come to love cold brewed coffee that I can enjoy at home, sans judgement from the baristas. Cold brewed coffee is just what it sounds like — coffee that’s brewed at room temperature for 15 to 24 hours. Because the coffee concentrate is so strong, you must dilute it with milk or water, and it makes an excellent iced coffee.

I loved drinking Slingshot Coffee Company’s coffee concentrate when I lived in Raleigh, but you can also make it yourself. It makes a ton, so it’s really nice if you’re making coffee for a crowd. Anyway, earlier this week, I went to Trader Joe’s and I was so happy to discover that they sell a store-brand version. I was so inspired, I decided to spike my beloved iced coffee with a little Bailey’s for this week’s Friday Night Delight. I want to drink this forever. Happy weekend! // susannah

See the recipe after the jump…

SPIKED ICED COFFEE WITH BAILEY’S

Made with coffee concentrate instead of coffee, this refreshing after-dinner or brunch drink packs a one-two punch of rich, powerful coffee and smooth, creamy Bailey’s. If you need to modify the amount, use equal parts of all three ingredients. You can also substitute brewed coffee for the concentrate, but be sure it’s room temperature before pouring over ice.

Makes one cocktail

Ingredients

  • 1 tall glass, filled with ice
  • 2 ounces Bailey’s Original Irish Cream
  • 2 ounces milk (substitute half-and-half or heavy cream for a richer taste)
  • 2 ounces cold brew coffee concentrate

Instructions

Pour Bailey’s and milk into ice-filled glass. Top with coffee concentrate. If needed, stir gently with an iced tea spoon or straw. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

